Citrix - Desktop Studio Error ( Active Directory) - It was DNS

Recently, on a brand new installation of Citrix Virtual Apps and Desktops 7.15 CU5, formerly known as XenDesktop and XenApp, I was faced with a bit of a head scratcher when first launching Citrix Studio. I received the dreaded “The current user does not appear to be a member of the active Directory domain. Studio cannot be run by a local user” error.

After first verifying that I was in fact logging into the domain, and not as a local admin, I had to head out to get some coffee to clear my head as there was nothing in the logs that was relevant to the issue I was experiencing.

After all my years in doing IT, I learned a very valuable lesson - it’s always DNS. In my case, I was thinking no way. How can DNS impact who I am logged in as. Well - I stand corrected. Who ever installed the DNS server, fat fingered some of the configuration. After updating the config in DNS, I attempted to re-launch CItrix Studio. Blammo!

It was DNS.

Hi there.

When you say it was a DNS issue…not sure what you mean. I am logged into a machine that is a computer of the domain as well as a user that is a member…any other ideas of what I should check…thanks a ton.

First off, welcome to the community.

If you can share your specific issue, I am sure I can help out. In the article above the issue was that he DNS server was at 10.1.1.5, however it was MIS configured, and the “fat finger” mistyped it as 10.1.1.15.

Hi there,

Thanks for reaching back out. The DNS is working fine which is weird. I tore down the env and started over. After I set up the Studio VM, I updated the DNS to point to my DNS server …I then successfully joined the machine to the domain. Machine rebooted and then logged into the VM with domain user credentials and then going to Studio I get that error. I confirmed via whoami that I logged into as a domain user…not sure what to do …thanks a ton.